deutsch english

Why January 12/13?

January 12/13 marked the darkest day in the history of the Rummelsburg workhouse.

On January 13, 1941 all 30 Jewish inmates were relocated to a hospital on the outskirts of Berlin as part of what the Nazis euphemistically called a ”euthanasia” program, later abbreviated to ”T4”. Four days later they were transported by bus to the Bernburg psychiatric clinic (in what is now Saxony-Anhalt), where they were gassed. Bernburg had by this point become a killing centre serving the T4 program, which was otherwise aimed at the sick and disabled and saw the murder of around 70,000 people across Germany and Austria through 1941.

On January 12, 1942, i.e. one year later, Rummelsburg was again the focus of a T4 operation. This time a high-ranking commission arrived to conduct a ”survey” of almost all the prison’s 1,500 male and female inmates. This was the first time all ”anti-social” individuals from a correctional facility were recorded for the Nazis’ T4 program.

In 314 cases the examiners decided to have the inmates killed. Unlike a year previously with the Jewish inmates, however, the orders were not carried out. This was because T4 personnel were now given the priority task of exterminating the Jews in Europe.

< back

 
dotcombinat | webdesign berlin

deutsch english

Warum der 12./13. Januar?

Der 12. und 13. Januar stehen für den abso­luten Tief­punkt in der Geschichte des Arbeits­hauses Rummelsburg.

Am 13. Januar 1941 wurden alle 30 jüdi­schen Insassen im Rahmen einer „Sonderaktion“ der NS-„Euthanasie“ in ein Krankenhaus nach Buch verlegt. Vier Tage später wurden sie mit einem Bus zur Heilanstalt Bernburg gebracht, wo sie mit Gas ermordet wurden. Bernburg war zu diesem Zeitpunkt eine Tötungsanstalt der „Aktion T4“, so der Tarnnamen einer großangelegten Mordaktion, die sich gezielt gegen Patienten und Kranke richtete. Bis 1941 wurden über 70.000 Menschen im Rahmen der „Aktion T4“ im Reichsgebiet ermordet.

Am 12. Januar 1942, also ein Jahr später, gerieten die Insassen des Arbeitshauses erneut in das Blickfeld der „T4“. Diesmal kam eine hochrangige Kommission nach Rummelsburg und „begutachtete“ alle fast alle der damals knapp 1.500 männlichen und weiblichen Insassen anhand eines Fragebogens. Erstmals wurden so alle „Asoziale“ einer Anstalt im Rahmen des nationalsozialistischen „T4“-Mordprogramms erfasst.

In 314 Fällen stimmten die Gutachter überein, die Menschen töten zu lassen. Sie wurden aber, anders als die jüdischen Insassen ein Jahr zuvor, nicht ermordet. Denn die Mitarbeiter der „T4“ wurden beim Massenmord an den europäischen Juden eingesetzt.

< zurück

 
dotcombinat | webdesign berlin